Destination Status
⚠ Scan-integrity note — read before relying on this cycle’s zone colours
All twelve mapped sources were attempted on 22 September; eight could not be read — the same eight as on 12, 15 and 19 September, and again including every Tier-A source that would carry a live security-driven change. Israel Home Front Command returned HTTP 403 on the English entry point; the Hebrew root did respond this cycle but served only a contact-details page with no regional alert status, no defensive guidance and no colour-coding, so it still yields nothing usable for zoning. Israel Police did not respond to automated access (connection timeout at the robots layer), which also removes the traffic control room channel; the Police department page on gov.il served metadata only, with no announcement content. Netivei Israel returned 403 on both the root and the public-notices path. Israel Railways served a JavaScript-only shell on both the English and the Hebrew homepages. The Israel Antiquities Authority again resolved into a redirect loop, and its post-redirect page carried metadata only. Waze and Google Maps served no retrievable incident data.
What held up: the Nature and Parks Authority dated newsflash register was read in full again and returned one new item dated today; twelve park and reserve pages were re-read; the US State Department advisory was re-read in full; GoIsrael and Visit Tel Aviv were reachable and carried no notice. The site-level picture below is therefore current to 22 September. The region colours still rest on the US advisory, Parks Authority records and the absence of any contradicting signal in the readable set. They are not corroborated against a Home Front Command zone reading. Do not represent them to clients as Home Front Command-confirmed. This is a source-reachability limit, not evidence of deterioration.
One downgrade to flag: the Visit Tel Aviv “Getting Around” page returned 404 this cycle, so the Tier-A transport anchor obtained on 19 September could not be re-read. It is carried forward as read on that date, not re-verified today.
What changed since the last cycle (19 September)
| Item | Previous | This cycle |
|---|---|---|
| Regional statuses (all five) | 🟢 ×1 · 🟡 ×4 | Unchanged — 🟢 ×1 · 🟡 ×4. No security-driven change recorded in any readable source 19–22 September |
| Yom Kippur | Fast due to run sunset Sun 20 Sep to nightfall Mon 21 Sep; nationwide stoppage | Passed. The fast ended at nightfall on Monday 21 September. Authority sites are back on ordinary summer hours from today, Tuesday 22 September, and the transport stoppage is over. All “Yom Kippur eve 08:00–13:00” timings on this page are now historic and have been removed from the operational lines below |
| Einot Fatzael Nature Reserve | Not listed | New, posted today: 🟡 no vehicle entry to the reserve on Tuesday 22 September because of works on the access road; pedestrian entry remains permitted (Authority notice, 22 Sep). One-day restriction as worded |
| Beit Guvrin–Maresha — festival-day closure | Yom Kippur-day closure expected but not stated on the page (⚠ UNCONFIRMED) | Resolved. The park page re-read 22 Sep now states in terms that the national park is closed on Yom Kippur. The festival-closure pattern this page carried as an inference is now anchored on an Authority page |
| Tel Dan Nature Reserve | 🟡 Short trail and wading pool open since 16 Sep; cultic site and other trails closed | No change. The 16 September notice was re-read 22 Sep and is still the live entry, with no full-reopening date. The flagged recheck — full reopening — has not happened. The reserve page still shows ordinary hours and no banner; the dated notice governs |
| Evrona black trail 20425 | 🔴 Closed 30 Aug to end of September; no reopening notice | Still no reopening notice. The 27 August notice re-read 22 Sep remains the live entry and names no reopening date beyond “end of September”. The English reserve page returned 404 again. Flagged recheck unresolved with days to run |
| Parks Authority Sukkot 2026 bulletin | Not yet posted | Still not posted. Register re-read 22 Sep carries no Sukkot 2026 hours or access bulletin; the Authority’s extended-hours article is dated 6 September 2022. Third flagged recheck unresolved, now three days from the festival eve |
| US State Department advisory | Level 3, last updated 26 Aug 2026; three Level 4 polygons | No change. Re-read 22 Sep: Level 3 — Reconsider Travel, last updated 26 August 2026; all three Level 4 zone definitions unchanged; the family-members provision and the employee movement restrictions stand as on 26 August |
| Horshat Tal National Park | 🟡 2 of 4 bathing pools closed; all pools closed Sun 20 Sep | The dated 20 September pool closure has expired. The standing restriction stands: 2 of 4 bathing pools closed (notice 17 Aug, still live 22 Sep). The park page carries no banner |
| Masada, En Gedi, Caesarea, Jerusalem Walls, Banias, Gamla, Yehudiya, Herodium, Ashkelon | As listed 19 Sep | Re-verified 22 Sep, no change (Tanners’ Tower closed; Snake Path closed Thu 8 Oct; En Gedi partial access unchanged; Caesarea Experience still not opened; Jerusalem Walls closed Saturdays with cashier 2 h early; Banias 04-6902577; Yehudiya canyon and campground closed; Herodium no closure) |
| Kerei Na’aman Nature Reserve | Habitat works throughout October (notice 15 Sep) | Unchanged — still the live entry on the register 22 Sep. Works have not yet begun |
| Home Front Command zone status | Unreachable (403) | Still unreachable for zoning. English 403; the Hebrew root responded but carries contact details only — no alert status, no regional colour-coding |
| Source reachability | 8 of 12 unreachable (1 updated, 3 no change) | Unchanged: 8 of 12 unreachable (1 updated, 3 no change). Same eight sources |
🟢 Tel Aviv & Central Coast — GREEN
Open and operating normally, and still the cleanest region on the page. Visit Tel Aviv — the official municipal visitor channel, Tier-A — was re-read on 22 September and carries no security notice, closure notice or situation banner. With Yom Kippur behind it, the city is back to ordinary operations from today: public transport, taxis and shared taxis are running again, museums and beaches are on normal hours, and the next calendar interruption is the Sukkot eve on Friday 25 September. Nothing in the readable set points to a security-driven restriction anywhere in the region.
- City core, beaches, Old Jaffa, Sarona, Carmel Market, museums: 🟢 open, normal operations resumed today. Expect the ordinary Friday-afternoon wind-down on 25 September and near-total closure on the festival day, Saturday 26 September.
- Caesarea National Park: 🟢 open (re-read 22 Sep). Summer Sun–Thu and Sat 08:00–17:00; Fri and holiday eves 08:00–16:00. Entrance closes one hour before closing — 16:00 on an ordinary day, 15:00 on Friday 25 September and Friday 2 October. The page states plainly that on holidays and Saturdays entry depends on available capacity; arrive early or reserve. Line 04-6267080.
- Caesarea “Caesarea Experience” display: 🔴 still not opened to visitors (page re-read 22 Sep, wording unchanged). No opening date. Remove from collateral.
- Caesarea sculpture garden: 🔴 closed until further notice (Authority notice, 21 April, still live on the register 22 Sep).
- Ashkelon National Park: 🟢 open. Summer Sun–Thu, Sat and Fri/holiday eves 08:00–20:00 with exit by 22:00; winter from late October 08:00–16:00, exit by 18:00. Bathing beach 08:00–18:00 through September, then 08:00–17:00 to 18 October, lifeguards on duty in season. 🟡 The wall path is partially blocked near the descent to the Roman-era auditorium, with a marked bypass in place (notice 30 June, still live). ⚠ The page’s holiday-eve line rendered inconsistently on the 22 September reading — confirm Sukkot-eve hours on 08-6736444 before committing a Friday group.
- Yarkon National Park (Tel Afek) and Migdal Tsedek: 🟢 no closure notice on the register 22 Sep.
- Tel Dor National Park: 🟡 open; the register carries a standing visitor-load advisory for peak days. Chol HaMoed is a peak period — expect the car park to fill early.
- Sharon coastal cliffs (Sharon Beach NP, Nahal Poleg reserve, Gador coastal reserve): 🟡 standing prohibition on approaching the cliff edge, collapse risk (register entry, still live). Brief walking groups.
- Dor–HaBonim coastal reserve: 🟡 open; no lifeguard service (Authority notice, 21 April, still live). Do not programme swimming.
Operator actions. Run the region as normal for the next three days. Friday 25 September is a half-day: build Caesarea and Ashkelon as morning visits with the gate cleared by 15:00, and have groups at their hotels before sunset. Saturday 26 September is a non-touring day — festival and Shabbat together, no public transport; brief clients that walking is the only way around the city, exactly as on Yom Kippur. From Sunday 27 September the Chol HaMoed week begins and Caesarea’s capacity rule starts to bite: pre-book and arrive at opening, or move the visit to the first hour of the day. Keep the Caesarea Experience and the sculpture garden out of collateral. Tel Aviv remains the default recovery region if a northern segment has to be dropped at short notice.
🟡 Jerusalem — YELLOW
The city is open on normal terms and no new security-driven closure or access restriction was recorded 19–22 September in any readable source. YELLOW continues to rest on the US advisory’s Level 3 framing (terrorism and civil unrest) and on the West Bank-adjacent routing cautions around the city, not on conditions inside it. The Yom Kippur standstill lifted at nightfall on Monday 21 September; the Old City, the Western Wall and the museums are back on ordinary hours today. The next pressure point is calendar, not security: Sukkot brings the heaviest domestic visitor week of the autumn from Sunday 27 September.
- Jerusalem Walls National Park (incl. the City of David area): 🟢 open (re-read 22 Sep). Summer Sun–Thu and Sat 08:00–19:00; Fri and holiday eves 08:00–16:00; closed on Saturdays. Cashier booths close two hours before site closing because the visit takes a minimum of two hours — last tickets 17:00 on an ordinary day and 14:00 on the Sukkot and Shemini Atzeret eves, Friday 25 September and Friday 2 October. Saturdays 26 September and 3 October are both Shabbat and festival days: unavailable. Tours line 08-6220835.
- Old City Walls ramparts promenade: ⚠ not part of the national park. The park’s status is not evidence that the ramparts walk is running — confirm with its operator before selling it.
- Old City, Western Wall, Mount of Olives, Yad Vashem, Israel Museum: 🟢 open on normal hours from today. Expect very heavy crowds across the whole Chol HaMoed week, 27 September–2 October, and at the Western Wall in particular.
- Herodium Park (Bethlehem district): 🟢 open (re-read 22 Sep), no closure notice. Summer Sun–Thu and Sat 08:00–17:00, Fri and holiday eves 08:00–16:00; entrance closes one hour before. Guided tours Fridays and Saturdays at noon. Lines 02-5953591 / 02-5953592. The site sits inside the West Bank and so inside the Level 3 area, but not inside any Level 4 zone. Open status and insurability are separate questions.
- Ein Prat (Nahal Prat) Nature Reserve: 🟡 open, reservation required — and the single most important Sukkot restriction on this page: no bus entry or exit on the Sukkot festival days and Chol HaMoed, 25 September–3 October (Authority notice, 6 Sep; re-confirmed live on the register 22 Sep). Line 02-5715859.
- Nahal Prat — Ein Mabu’a: 🟡 open by reservation; vehicles not permitted on Fridays, Saturdays and holidays, which covers every Sukkot festival day; hikers must set out on the Ein Prat trail by 11:00 and on the Ein Qelt trail by 12:00. 🔴 Stream trail from Ein Mabu’a to Ein Qelt closed; water entry prohibited. Line 02-6339263. (Carried from 19 Sep; reserve page not reachable this cycle.)
- Beit Guvrin–Maresha National Park: 🟡 open (re-read 22 Sep). Summer Sun–Thu and Sat 08:00–17:00, Fri and holiday eves 08:00–16:00, holiday eves 08:00–13:00; last entry at least one hour before closing. The page now states that the park is closed on Yom Kippur — a festival-closure statement this page previously had to infer. Maze Cave: closure carried from 7 September, ⚠ UNCONFIRMED — the page still does not mention it. Lines 08-6811020 / 08-6220835; WhatsApp +972-54-964-2434.
- Mt Tayasim black trail 9324: 🔴 closed 16 August–31 October 2026 (Authority notice of 13 Aug, still on the register 22 Sep).
- Standing closed trails (master list, dated 6 July, re-confirmed live 22 Sep): 🔴 Judean Mountains NP route 9363 across Nahal Sorek to Samson’s Cave; Ma’ayan Giv’on reserve; Dolev reserve twin caves (stream trail open); Sartaba red trail 5520 (alternative via green 5423); Um Rihan blue trail 4435.
- Ein Lavan / Ein Haniya pools: 🟡 water entry prohibited during works (2 Sep) — carried, ⚠ UNCONFIRMED; not on the current register.
Operator actions. Jerusalem is back to normal today — reinstate any programme that was held over the fast. Do not schedule Jerusalem Walls National Park on any Saturday, and treat 14:00 on Friday 25 September and Friday 2 October as the last ticket. For Ein Prat across the whole of Sukkot, plan a coach drop-off outside the reserve with a walk-in, or move the visit outside 25 September–3 October — the bus ban is absolute for those dates and is the most common Sukkot booking failure in this region. Ein Mabu’a is unreachable by vehicle on every festival day. Keep the Maze Cave out of Beit Guvrin programmes until the park confirms it in writing. Check the client’s insurance treatment of West Bank sites before confirming Herodium. Brief guides that Chol HaMoed crowding at the Western Wall is a headcount problem, not a security one.
🟡 Northern Israel & Galilee (incl. Golan) — YELLOW
This is still the region where “open” and “advisable” have come apart. Every northern site checked this cycle is running ordinary seasonal hours with no security closure, but the entire upper Galilee and Golan sit inside the US Level 4 “Do Not Travel” northern polygon — the area north of Route 85 to Route 90 (south) to Route 87 — which captures Tel Dan, Banias, Nimrod, Hula, Horshat Tal and Akhziv. Routes 85, 90 and 87 are boundary definitions in the advisory, not closed roads. That distinction is the single most misread line on this page and should be stated to clients in exactly those terms.
Tel Dan is unchanged and the flagged recheck has not resolved. The Nature and Parks Authority notice of 16 September — re-read on 22 September and still the live entry — states that the reserve is open for the short trail only, which includes the wading pool, running gate to gate as far as ancient Tel Dan, and that the cultic (worship) site and the remaining trails are closed. Six days on, no date for full reopening has been published. The English and Hebrew reserve pages still show ordinary hours with no restriction banner — the dated notice governs, not the reserve page. This page makes no inference about cause.
- Tourist core — Tiberias, Sea of Galilee circuit, Nazareth, Safed, Akko, Haifa, wine routes: 🟢 open, operating normally, no notice in any readable source.
- Tel Dan Nature Reserve: 🟡 short trail and wading pool open (since 16 September); 🔴 cultic site and all other trails closed until further notice. Hours per the reserve page: summer Sun–Thu and Sat 08:00–17:00, Fri and holiday eves 08:00–16:00; entrance closes an hour earlier. The page also warns that pre-registered visitors may be asked to show their visit-coordination confirmation at the gate when the reserve is full. Line 04-6951579 / *3639.
- Hermon Stream (Banias) Nature Reserve: 🟢 open (re-read 22 Sep), no closure notice. Summer Sun–Thu and Sat 08:00–17:00; Fri and holiday eves 08:00–16:00; entrance one hour before closing. Phone 04-6902577, WhatsApp +972-54-964-2434. 🔴 Banias caves closed to entry (master list, carried).
- Gamla Nature Reserve: 🟢 open (re-read 22 Sep), no closure on the register. Summer Sun–Thu and Sat 08:00–17:00; Fri and holiday eves 08:00–16:00; holiday eves 08:00–13:00; entrance one hour before. 🟡 Entrance-area development works may cause parking congestion (notice 10 June, still live). Advance reservation advised. Line 04-6822282.
- Yehudiya Forest Nature Reserve: 🟡 open with mandatory advance online reservation; last entry 14:30 in summer (13:30 in winter, one hour earlier on Fridays), with shorter cut-offs on the longer routes. 🔴 Yehudiya canyon lower section closed — an upstream path reaches the waterfall instead; 🔴 descent to the Zavitan waterfall, blue trail 1461, closed (notice 30 Aug, still live 22 Sep); Black Gorge by advance arrangement and registration only, rappelling access (04-6962817); 🔴 campground closed until further notice.
- Horshat Tal National Park: 🟡 open; 2 of 4 bathing pools closed (notice 17 Aug, still live 22 Sep). The one-day pool closure of 20 September has expired. Summer Sun–Thu and Sat 08:00–17:00, Fri 08:00–16:00; entrance one hour before. Reservations strongly recommended. Line 04-6942440.
- Kerei Na’aman Nature Reserve (Haifa Bay): 🟡 habitat-restoration works throughout October — mechanical mowing and removal of invasive species (notice 15 Sep, still live). No closure stated; expect work activity on site.
- Nimrod Fortress, Hula, Bet She’an, Gan HaShlosha: 🟢 no closure on the register 22 Sep; hours carried from the 12 September reading. Gan HaShlosha museums Sun–Thu 10:00–14:00 only. Lines: Nimrod 04-6949277; Hula 04-6937069; Bet She’an 04-6481122; Gan HaShlosha 04-6586219.
- Akhziv National Park: 🟡 open. Bathing prohibited at the southern beach (⚠ page wording dates it to an earlier season; confirm on 04-9823263).
- Mount Gerizim: 🟡 site open; visitor centre and service centre closed since 1 July (register entry, still live).
- Standing closed trails (master list, dated 6 July, re-confirmed live 22 Sep): 🔴 Mt Gilboa — all hiking trails; Mt Kamon trails 3045, 3047, 3050, 3053, 3055, 3060; Mt Shakhania routes; Nahal Tavor canyon route 3330; Branikim cave entrance; Nahal Yavne’el blue 3219; Nahal Beit HaEmek cliff section; Kiryat Shemona black 2054; Nahal Oravim hiking (waterfall viewpoint permitted); Gilbon waterfall trails 1361/1364; Ornit cave. ⚠ The lower Nahal Amud listing still carries an apparently lapsed end date — confirm on *3639.
- Standing Authority instruction (9 April 2026, still pinned on the register 22 Sep): unexploded ordnance may be present in the field in northern reserves; absolute prohibition on leaving marked trails (including Yehudiya, Banias, Tel Dan, Snir, Meshushim and the Gamla-area reserves). Brief every hiking group, every time.
Operator actions. Tel Dan stays in programmes as a short-trail visit only — sell it as the short loop and wading pool, never as the full reserve walk, and put the closure of the cultic site in the client’s written itinerary. Banias remains the pairing for groups that want a longer trail. Segment clients by source market before selling the north: for US-origin groups a Level 4 designation frequently voids or restricts travel insurance regardless of whether the gate is open; confirm in writing per booking and keep the confirmation on file. Yehudiya sells out over Chol HaMoed — book now for 27 September–2 October and warn clients that the 14:30 cut-off is enforced. Remove the Yehudiya canyon descent and the Zavitan waterfall descent (trail 1461) from product copy. Do not promise four-pool bathing at Horshat Tal. Expect heavy northbound interurban traffic on Sunday 27 September and again on Friday 2 October.
🟡 Dead Sea & Judean Desert — YELLOW
Hotels, beaches and the principal heritage sites operate normally, with no incident in the window and no Route 90 security closure recorded in a readable source. YELLOW reflects the substantial partial closures inside the flagship nature sites, all re-verified this cycle with no change. En Gedi remains the most commercially exposed site in the country — the gap between what clients expect from the name and what they can actually walk is wider here than anywhere else on the page.
- En Gedi Nature Reserve — Wadi David: 🟡 open only on the accessible path to the first waterfall, about a five-minute walk each way (re-read 22 Sep, wording unchanged). Restoration is ongoing and no completion date is given.
- En Gedi — Nahal Arugot: 🟢 open for fit hikers; entry permitted up to three hours before closing — last entry 14:00 on a 17:00 day, and correspondingly earlier on the Sukkot and Shemini Atzeret eves.
- En Gedi — Ein Gedi Spring, Dodim’s Cave and the other reserve sections: 🔴 closed pending restoration; no reopening date (re-read 22 Sep).
- En Gedi Antiquities National Park and the ancient synagogue: 🟢 open as usual. Each En Gedi section requires its own reservation (antiquities excepted). David Stream line 08-6584285; the page itself tells visitors to call *3639 before travelling for current conditions.
- Masada National Park: 🟢 open (re-read 22 Sep). Summer Sun–Thu and Sat 08:00–17:00, Fri and holiday eves 08:00–16:00. Entrance and last cable-car ascent one hour before closing — 16:00 on an ordinary day, 15:00 on Friday 25 September and Friday 2 October. Snake Path opens about an hour before sunrise; the park sets the last ascent and last descent on the day and may bring them forward to as early as 07:00 and 08:00, so no sunrise ascent should be sold as guaranteed. 🔴 Snake Path closed Thursday 8 October for maintenance (notice 8 Sep, still live 22 Sep). 🔴 Tanners’ Tower temporarily closed for safety repairs (re-confirmed 22 Sep).
- Einot Tsukim (Ein Feshkha): 🟢 springs area open (carried from the 15 September reading; the reserve page returned 404 on 22 Sep, so ⚠ not re-verified this cycle).
- Einot Fatzael Nature Reserve (Jordan Valley): 🟡 no vehicle entry today, Tuesday 22 September, because of works on the access road; pedestrian entry remains permitted (Authority notice, 22 Sep). As worded this is a one-day restriction, but the works are on the access road and may recur — confirm before sending a coach.
- Nahal Og lower trail (blue 8119): 🔴 closed (notice 13 Aug, still live 22 Sep).
- Standing closed desert trails (master list, 6 July): 🔴 Nahal Mishmar routes 11120, 11125, 11127; Nahal Tamar green trail.
Operator actions. Masada is back on full hours — reinstate ordinary morning programmes, but keep the last cable car at 16:00 in the plan and at 15:00 on both Sukkot eves. Move any 8 October Snake Path sunrise ascent to the cable car or to another date now; that date is eight days after the Chol HaMoed week and is the kind of booking that gets overlooked. Nahal Arugot shuts to entry at 14:00 on an ordinary day — a Dead Sea base, not a Jerusalem one, is what makes a same-day Masada-plus-Arugot itinerary work. Keep issuing En Gedi expectations in writing before departure: “Wadi David is open on the accessible path to the first waterfall only; the spring, Dodim’s Cave and the upper sections are closed.” Do not send a coach to Einot Fatzael today.
🟡 Negev & Eilat — YELLOW
Eilat’s resorts, Timna Park, the Ramon Crater and Ramon Airport operate normally, and no new security-driven closure was recorded in the window. YELLOW rests on the unchanged, precisely bounded limitations below — principally the US Level 4 strip within 2.4 km / 1.5 miles of the Israel–Egypt border, which runs the length of the Negev’s western edge down to Eilat and bears directly on the Route 10 corridor. The Taba (Menachem Begin) crossing area is expressly carved out — wording re-confirmed on 22 September.
- Eilat resort strip, Coral Beach reserve, Timna Park, Mitzpe Ramon: 🟢 open, normal operations; resort operations resumed fully after the fast.
- Avdat National Park: 🟢 open, 08:00–17:00 Sun–Thu and Sat, Fri and holiday eves 08:00–16:00; entrance gates close 30 minutes before closing — tighter than the one-hour rule used at most sites, and a recurring cause of refused entry. (Carried from 12 Sep; no closure on the register.) Line 08-6551511.
- Tel Be’er Sheva National Park: 🟢 open, 08:00–17:00 Sun–Thu and Sat (carried from 12 Sep). Line 08-6467286.
- Hai-Bar Yotvata Nature Reserve: 🟢 no closure notice on the register 22 Sep.
- Evrona Reserve black trail 20425: 🔴 closed from 30 August to the end of September (notice 27 Aug, still the live entry on 22 Sep). No reopening notice has been posted with the stated expiry now days away. Do not assume a 1 October reopening until the Authority posts one; this page re-checks on 26 September.
- Kasuy Sands reserve: 🔴 closed by standing order (master list).
- Negev Highlands blue trail 18290 — passage to Route 10: 🔴 closed by standing order (master list). This trail runs toward the Egypt-border corridor; the closure and the Level 4 strip reinforce each other.
- Princess Bridges (Eilat south beach): 🔴 ascent prohibited (master list).
- Taba / Menachem Begin crossing: 🟢 expressly excepted from the US Egypt-border exclusion. (Crossing hours are covered on the Travel Operations page.)
Operator actions. Keep all itineraries outside the 2.4 km Egypt-border strip and do not route hikers toward Route 10 from trail 18290. If a client transits to Taba, document the carve-out in writing — it is the one exception in an otherwise absolute exclusion and clients’ insurers will ask. Watch the 30-minute gate rule at Avdat; it is not the one-hour rule used elsewhere. Hold Evrona 20425 out of October programmes until a reopening is posted. Eilat is a strong Chol HaMoed destination and fills early: expect heavy southbound Route 90 traffic on Sunday 27 September and heavy northbound traffic on Friday 2 October.
🔴 Border-zone exclusions — the three US Level 4 polygons
The US Department of State advisory for Israel, the West Bank and Gaza was re-read in full on 22 September. Overall level: 3 — Reconsider Travel. Last updated 26 August 2026 — no change between 19 and 22 September, and none since 26 August. That is now four consecutive cycles with no advisory movement. The 26 August text also records that family members may again accompany US government employees working in Israel — a posture signal operators can cite when US clients ask whether the embassy community is resident as normal.
The three Level 4 — Do Not Travel zones, in the advisory’s current wording, all cited for armed conflict:
- Areas north of Route 85 to Route 90 (south) to Route 87.
- Within 11.3 kilometres / 7 miles of the Gaza Strip.
- Within 2.4 kilometres / 1.5 miles of the Israel–Egypt border, except at the area of the Taba border crossing, also known as the Menachem Begin crossing.
US government employees remain restricted from all three zones, and any official travel into them requires security-office approval — a useful benchmark when a client asks how seriously the exclusions are treated by the issuing government itself.
The polygons are geometrically defined, not named-place defined. The Gaza ring is measured from the Strip boundary, not from any town, and the Egypt strip from the border line. Ashkelon National Park remains the case to check: open on full hours with no restriction, but close enough to the 11.3 km threshold that it should be measured rather than assumed.
Operator actions. Measure, do not estimate — run every southern site and overnight stop against the 11.3 km Gaza ring and the 2.4 km Egypt strip, and keep the measurement on file against the booking. Put the northern polygon on a map for sales staff; Tel Dan (partly open) and Banias both lie inside it, as do Hula, Nimrod, Horshat Tal and Akhziv. Quote the advisory date — 26 August 2026 — in client documentation, so the client can see it is current rather than stale. Build no product inside the three Level 4 polygons.
Road and rail access
Road. No security-attributable or incident-attributable interurban closure or diversion could be verified for any region this cycle. This is a gap in evidence, not a positive finding of clear roads. Netivei Israel returned 403 on both the root and its public-notices path; Israel Police, including the traffic control room channel, did not respond; the Police department page on gov.il carried no announcement content; Waze and Google Maps returned no retrievable incident data and are Tier-B in any case. The one road-access fact that could be verified is site-level: the access road to Einot Fatzael Nature Reserve is under works today, 22 September, with no vehicle entry to the reserve and pedestrian entry permitted (Nature and Parks Authority, 22 Sep).
Rail. Israel Railways could not be read on any path — the English site and the Hebrew site both served a JavaScript-only shell. The Sukkot rail pattern is therefore unconfirmed (⚠). The general Israeli pattern is that trains do not run from Friday afternoon until Saturday nightfall and do not run on festival days, which would put no service from the afternoon of Friday 25 September until after nightfall on Saturday 26 September, and again from the afternoon of Friday 2 October until after nightfall on Saturday 3 October; Chol HaMoed weekdays, 27 September–1 October, would run normally and heavily. None of this could be read from the operator, and the operator’s own cut-off times are unknown. Do not plan rail-dependent transfers, including Ben Gurion rail links, on these dates on the basis of this page.
Calendar constraint — Yom Kippur has passed. The fast ran from sunset on Sunday 20 September to nightfall on Monday 21 September and is over. Transport, taxis and shared taxis resumed last night; Nature and Parks Authority sites are on ordinary hours from today. The only carry-forward is documentary: the Beit Guvrin page now states that the national park closes on Yom Kippur, which confirms for the record the festival-closure pattern this page had been carrying as an inference across earlier cycles. Treat that as the template for Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah.
Calendar constraint — Sukkot and Shemini Atzeret (25 September–3 October). This is now the live operational question. Festival eve Friday 25 September (holiday-eve hours, 08:00–13:00 at the sites that publish a holiday-eve line, 08:00–16:00 at the rest); first festival day Saturday 26 September — festival and Shabbat together, effectively a non-touring day; Chol HaMoed 27 September–2 October; Shemini Atzeret eve Friday 2 October; Shemini Atzeret / Simchat Torah Saturday 3 October. The Authority has still not published a Sukkot 2026 hours or access bulletin — its extended-hours article remains 2022 content — so no site-by-site festival timetable can be cited this cycle. Chol HaMoed is the peak domestic leisure week of the autumn: expect time slots to fill early at the reservation-only sites (Masada, Yehudiya, Ein Prat, Ein Mabu’a, En Gedi, Hula, Gamla, Herodium), capacity-based entry at Caesarea, Ashkelon and Tel Dor, and heavy interurban traffic toward the north, the Dead Sea and Eilat.
Named Sukkot restrictions on record (all re-confirmed 22 September): Ein Prat — no bus entry or exit 25 September–3 October; Ein Mabu’a — no vehicles on Fridays, Saturdays and festival days; Jerusalem Walls National Park — closed Saturdays 26 September and 3 October, last tickets 14:00 on both festival eves; Caesarea — entry subject to capacity on holidays and Saturdays. Everything else on the Sukkot calendar is inference from the ordinary holiday-eve lines on each site page, not from a festival bulletin, and is marked accordingly.
Analyst note for operators
The security picture for visitor access is where it was on 19 September, and on 15 and 12 September before that: no advisory movement, no security-driven closure recorded in any readable source, and no region changing colour. That is four consecutive quiet cycles on the US advisory and on the security-relevant closure record. It is operationally the most important fact on the page precisely because it generates no headline, and it is worth saying to clients in those words rather than leaving them to infer it from silence.
The calendar has turned. Yom Kippur is behind us and the whole apparatus of half-days, 11:00 last cable cars and walking-only cities has dissolved; today is an ordinary operating day. What replaces it is a different and in some ways harder problem: Sukkot is a nine-day event, not a one-day shutdown. It contains two non-touring Saturdays (26 September and 3 October), two half-day Fridays (25 September and 2 October), and in between the single busiest domestic leisure week of the Israeli autumn. The failure mode in Sukkot is not a closed gate; it is a full one. Reservation-only sites and capacity-limited sites are where itineraries break, and they break at the booking stage, not on the day.
Three named restrictions are worth more than the rest combined, because they are absolute and dated: no buses at Ein Prat for the entire 25 September–3 October window, no vehicles at Ein Mabu’a on any festival day, and Jerusalem Walls closed on both Saturdays. Those three will account for most of the Sukkot bookings that go wrong this year. Against that, the absence of a Parks Authority Sukkot bulletin three days before the festival eve is itself a finding: operators cannot plan against a published festival timetable this year and must work site by site from each page’s holiday-eve line, which is exactly what this page has done.
The two site-level watch items both failed to move. Tel Dan has now sat at partial reopening for six days with no further notice — consistent with the staged-recovery pattern flagged last cycle, and the accurate client line remains: “Short trail and wading pool open since 16 September; the cultic site and the longer trails remain closed by the Nature and Parks Authority; full reopening has not been announced.” Evrona black trail 20425 is the more awkward of the two, because its notice expires by its own terms at the end of this month and nothing has been posted to confirm or extend it. An expiring closure with no successor notice is not a reopening; hold it out of October product until the Authority says otherwise.
The evidence base is unchanged in shape: thin at the security layer, deep at the site layer. Home Front Command, Police and Netivei Israel remain unreadable, so zone colours are still not Home Front Command-corroborated and should never be presented as such. One small gain and one small loss this cycle: the Beit Guvrin page now states the Yom Kippur closure in terms, closing an inference this page had carried for three cycles, while the Visit Tel Aviv transport page went 404, so the Tier-A public-transport anchor obtained on 19 September could not be re-read and is carried rather than re-verified.
⚠ Not confirmed from a primary source this cycle: regional Home Front Command safety colour-coding for all five regions (English 403; Hebrew root carries contact details only); the absence of new security-driven closures 19–22 September (Home Front Command and Police unreachable); a date for the full reopening of Tel Dan (not published); the absence of interurban road closures and diversions (Netivei Israel, Police and both Tier-B mapping sources unreadable); Israel Railways Sukkot and Shemini Atzeret operating pattern and cut-off times; any Israel Police Sukkot traffic arrangements; any Sukkot 2026 Nature and Parks Authority hours or access bulletin (not posted); Sukkot festival-day closure at Authority sites other than Beit Guvrin (expected on the Yom Kippur template; not stated on the other pages read); whether Ashkelon National Park falls inside the 11.3 km Level 4 Gaza ring; the Ashkelon holiday-eve hours line, which rendered inconsistently on the 22 September reading; the Old City ramparts promenade status; the Beit Guvrin Maze Cave closure (carried from 7 Sep); Ein Lavan / Ein Haniya water-entry prohibition (carried from 2 Sep); Ein Mabu’a restrictions (carried from 19 Sep; page not reachable); Einot Tsukim status (carried from 15 Sep; page returned 404); the Akhziv southern-beach bathing prohibition; the lower Nahal Amud listing; Evrona 20425 reopening after its stated end-September expiry; whether the Einot Fatzael access-road works extend beyond 22 September; any Israel Antiquities Authority notice; any current GoIsrael travel notice; the Visit Tel Aviv public-transport statement (carried from 19 Sep, page 404 this cycle). Hours for Nimrod, Hula, Bet She’an, Gan HaShlosha, Avdat and Tel Be’er Sheva are carried from 12 September; Einot Tsukim and Ein Mabu’a from 15 and 19 September. Information for professional decision-making; not travel, security, legal or financial advice. Confirm time-sensitive matters with the relevant official authority before acting.
Stay informed
Destination Status is refreshed twice weekly. Subscribe to receive updates from the Israel Tourism Intelligence Hub as they are published.
